Fashion Trends

Wes Gordon

At 25 most of us are still trying to figure out what we want to do with our life, in the case of designer Wes Gordon this couldn’t be farther from the truth. Just to set the stage, Wes studied at Central Saint Martin in London and spent his summers with Oscar De La Renta and Tom Ford. So clearly it is no wonder why he has such strong work and innovative designs. What I think makes him such a strong designer is his ability to show his love for his clients in his designs. Currently his clothes are sold at Harrods London. He seems to be in tune with what women want. “Gordon says, “There’s something amazing about meeting the woman who is buying your clothes and hearing her feedback about what she likes and does not like.” My favorites of the NYFW collection were the high neck Rorschach-style print, coral silk dress, and python shorts. I could also see myself wearing the suit to work. The only accessory in the show was the “poppy field” painted nails on the models. Gordon models are wearing Manolo Blahnik shoes.

Gordon has a new collection with Bloomingdale’s coming out in March 2012 with Jones New York, so mark your calendars ladies! I think his line is preppy and fun with an air of sophistication. Jones New York is known from being an older more established woman brand so I see there reasons for bringing on a relatively new designer to breathe new life into the brand. This could be the catalyst of change Jones New York needs in order to revive the image of the brand and bring in a whole new demographic of customers. Either way I think this young designer will be here to stay.

Check out what fashion trends are in 2012. This is a video of Gordon’s show in New York Fashion Week 2011 illustrating designs for Spring Fashion 2012.

images via style.com

Twitt

Fashion 2012

When is fashion week in 2012? There are three main fashion events during the January and February 2012 held in Milan, London, and New York City . Of course there are others, but these are the events you can’t miss. I watch live streaming via youtube. Check out these winter/fall designers 2012 collections.

Start off with Milan Fashion Week January 14, 2012 through January 17, 2012. Designer, Corneliani will be followed by shows from major fashion houses such as Dolce & Gabanna, Gucci, Bottega Veneta and more. Check out the full schedule below. London Fashion week starts February 17, 2012 through Febrary 23, 2012 with Antoni & Alison catwalk. Click the link for the schedule from London Fashion Week. New York Fashion Week kicks off  February 9, 2012 through February 16, 2012. Check out the website for New York Fashion Week. The designer line up is incredible.

Jump start the new year with Fashion 2012 – Milan Fashion Week Fall/Winter Schedule:

Saturday, January 14, 2012

9.30 CET / 3:30am EST / 5:30pm JST – Corneliani, Viale Alemagna, 6
10.30 CET / 4:30am EST / 6:30pm JST – Ermenegildo Zegna, via Savona, 56 A
12.30 CET / 6:30am EST / 8:30pm JST – Costume National Homme, via Tortona, 58
14.00 CET / 8:00am EST / 10:00pm JST – Dolce&Gabbana, Viale Piave, 24
15.00 CET / 9:00am EST / 11:00pm JST – Jil Sander, via Beltrami, 5
16.00 CET / 10:00am EST / 12:00am JST (January 15) – Frankie Morello, via Palermo, 10
17.00 CET / 11:00am EST / 1:00am JST (January 15) – Burberry Prorsum, C.So Venezia, 16
18.00 CET / 12:00pm EST / 2:00am JST (January 15) – John Varvatos, C.So Italia, 21
19.00 CET / 1:00pm EST / 3:00am JST (January 15) – Neil Barrett, via Valenza, 2
20.00 CET / 2:00pm EST / 4:00am JST (January 15) – Roberto Cavalli, via San Luca, 3

Sunday, January 15, 2012
9.30 CET / 3:30am EST / 5:30pm JST – Bottega Veneta, via Privata Ercole Marelli, 6
10.30 CET / 4:30am EST / 6:30pm JST – Emporio Armani, via Bergognone, 59
11.30 CET / 5:30am EST / 7:30pm JST – Ermanno Scervino, via Manzoni, 37
12.30 CET / 6:30am EST / 8:30pm JST – Salvatore Ferragamo, Piazza Affari, 6
14.00 CET / 8:00am EST / 10:00pm JST – Pringle of Scotland
15.00 CET / 9:00am EST / 11:00pm JST – Vivienne Westwood, C.So Venezia, 16
16.00 CET / 10:00am EST / 12:00am JST (January 16) – Missoni, via Thaon de Revel, 21
17.00 CET / 11:00am EST / 1:00am JST (January 16) – Trussardi, Piazza Della Scala, 5
18.00 CET / 12:00pm EST / 2:00am JST (January 16) – Prada, via Fogazzaro, 36
19.00 CET / 1:00pm EST / 3:00am JST (January 16) – Moncler Gamme Bleu, via Clerici, 5
20.00 CET / 2:00pm EST / 4:00am JST (January 16) – Calvin Klein Collection, Viale Umbria, 37

Monday, January 16, 2012
9.30 CET / 3:30am EST / 5:30pm JST – Dirk Bikkembergs, Viale Alemagna, 6
10.30 CET / 4:30am EST / 6:30pm JST – Iceberg, via Palermo, 10
11.30 CET / 5:30am EST / 7:30pm JST – John Richmond, Giardini di Porta Venezia – Ingr via Palestro
12.30 CET / 6:30am EST / 8:30pm JST – Gucci, Piazza Oberdan, 2/B
14.00 CET / 8:00am EST / 10:00pm JST – Etro, via Piranesi, 14
15.00 CET / 9:00am EST / 11:00pm JST – Z Zegna, via Solari, 35
16.00 CET / 10:00am EST / 12:00am JST (January 17) – Canali, via Savona, 56
17.00 CET / 11:00am EST / 1:00am JST (January 17) – Gazzarrini, via Tortona, 15
18.00 CET / 12:00pm EST / 2:00am JST (January 17) – Moschino, via Cinco del Duca, 8
19.00 CET / 1:00pm EST / 3:00am JST (January 17) – Nicole Farhi
20.00 CET / 2:00pm EST / 4:00am JST (January 17) – Versace, via Gesu’, 12

Tuesday, January 17, 2012
9.30 CET / 3:30am EST / 5:30pm JST – DSquared2, via San Luca, 3
10.30 CET / 4:30am EST / 6:30pm JST – Giorgio Armani, via Bergognone, 59
11.30 CET / 5:30am EST / 7:30pm JST – Diesel Black Gold, via Savona, 56
12.30 CET / 6:30am EST / 8:30pm JST – Ports 1961, via Tortona, 58
13.30 CET / 7:30am EST / 9:30pm JST – Enrico Coveri, via Bugatti, 9
14.30 CET / 8:30am EST / 10:30pm JST – roccobarocco, Palazzo Valsecchi – via Santo Spirito, 10

Images via lelalondon.com

Twitt

New Years Resolutions

Mark Twain pretty much got it right when he said we make our annual good resolutions on New Year’s Day and “begin paving hell with them as usual” the following week. The Wall Street Journal suggests that we should, ” Have someone else—a significant other, your best friend, maybe even your mom—make [goals] for you.”

“Most of us could use help achieving our goals. Who better to tell us how to improve ourselves than someone who knows us well—perhaps better than we know ourselves—and even may be all too happy to offer up some tough love? And if we promise to check in regularly with this person to discuss our progress, we’ll probably do a much better job of keeping our resolutions.”

“We all have blind spots, but the people we are intimate with can see through them,” says David Palmiter, a couples therapist and professor of psychology at Marywood University, in Scranton, Pa. A loved one can encourage us to meet our goals and hold us accountable when we slip, he says.

I think this is a novel idea that I have not thought about before. I outsourced my resolutions to my friends and Family.  The goals that they suggested I set were as follows:

1. Take more time for myself.

2. Plan more trips and events with friends and family

3. Be more spiritual.

4. Never get too lazy to not put on jewelry before work. (this goal was made by me, not family or friends).

Continue reading about how to ask for assistance when setting goals.

Twitt

David Luna and ORIGENES

Storeowner, Catherine Edwards

When I first walked into Casa Catalina y Galeria, in Todos Antos two years ago, I fell in love with David Luna’s designs ORIGENES. As, Todos Santos is one of the most well known art towns in the world it was no surprise that these purses were an art form. Each ORIGENES purse is vibrant, hand carved leather, and unique.  After thinking about these purses for another year when I went back to Mexico, I bought two. Theses are designs that could fit any occasion.

The storeowner, Catherine Edwards discover designer, years ago. She said he is not known for his purses but should be. Luna is famous for his interior designs, his world-wide crafts enrich rooms with textures, colors and materials in magical atmospheres, making his multicultural and unique style, unfolded in the great range of alternatives. David Luna is a renaissance man. He has more than 25 years, experience in the handling of all class of materials like wood, iron, ceramics, leather, blown glass and textiles. My favorite of his medians is leather.  He has decorated interiors and exteriors in diverse places of Mexico and the world like Greece, Panamá, France, Italy and England.

Which Fashion Trends purse is your favorite?

Twitt

Make Your Own Magazine Page

Classic Elegance

I just discovered the coolest application. Shop online, create a list of all your favorite pieces, buy, or create a magazine page. It is easy, and fun. Try it out:) Go to Polyvore. The theme of my page is Love. This outfit is for  the independent woman, ready for a night out on the town. Red J brand jeans, sequin top, and tux blazer would help create a night to remember.

Classic Elegance by fashiontrendshq featuring a skull umbrella
Twitt

Rachel Roy’s Favorites

It all about the Winter White and Bright. “A vision in white is a breathtaking way to make an entrance for the holidays.” Each season, Roy posts her Rachel’s picks on her website. During New York Fashion Week Rachel stated, “I just want people to feel confident and smart in my clothes.” This statement is why I shop Rachel Roy.  Her clothes are modest, sexy, and comfortable. Roy designs have colonial Vietnam  inspiration, creating an eclectic collection of day and night looks. Her styles have been referred to as “romantic minimalism.”

My favorite pick of Rachel’s is the nude sequin clutch. What I love about Rachel Roy’s design is the laying materials such as the python accent on the purse. As I went to buy the small sequin frame clutch, the website prompted, “its so hot its sold out.” Another one of my favorite picks is Rachel’s Crepe cut out cream dress. It is modest but is sexy, with the cut out shoulders. The Cup chain necklace would make any outfit beautiful with elegance, and class.

If you like this post check of Fashion Trends on Twitter:)

Twitt

Best of Paris Fashion Week

Paris Fashion Week featured some excellent spring 2012 offerings from Dries Van Noten, Chanel, Kenzo, Givenchy, Stella McCartney, Balenciaga, Alexander McQueen, Balmain, Jean Paul Gaultier, Yves Saint Laurent, Rick Owens, Celine, Lavin, Valentino, Chloé and Louis Vuitton.  Fashion Trends from Paris Fashion week: Sheer everything. Paris is known for lingerie, but fashion designers such as Christian Dior designed gowns where the bare rear showed through a shimmery and sheer evening gown.  Other trends were billowy gowns fashioned from silk, such as Alexander Mcqueen’s gown above.

Images via thefashioninformer

Twitt

Halloween and McQueen

Skull and Cross Bones. Not just for Halloween. Alexander McQueen introduces a short film by Parisian director, Babette Pauthier highlighting the seasonal collection of scarves. The scarves mutate in mirroring symmetry effect, with detailed print motifs of broken porcelain, armor, feathers, and tweed. Alexander McQueen’s autumn/fall line of scarves feature bight silk, pashmina, jersey, and fashion. My favorite is the silk yellow scarf below. For those interested, the collection is now available to purchase online through the Alexander McQueen website.

Images via Coute Que Coute.

Follow Fashion Trends on Twitter.

Twitt

Congrats to Project Runway’s Winner, Anya Ayoung-Chee

Beauty pageant queen turned fashion designer, Anya Ayoung-Chee was the underdog in the semi-finalist round after being a fan favorite for much of Project Runway Season 9. She learned how to sew only 4 months before she entered the contest. The judges were underwhelmed with her 3 designs and asked her to go back to what she does best, high-end resort wear. The black and white outfits were created 2 days before the final show. Her talent is her ability to choose fabric and patterns, use the pattern to accentuate the design and cut the fabric so that it has movement.  Each piece was exciting, had drama and represented what every women wants to be like on vacation: relaxed, casual, and sexy. I loved the dresses as they floated down the runway.

Pictures via NYMag.com.

Twitt

Nick Cave’s Soundsuits

Nick Cave’s efforts qualify as fashion, body art or sculpture, and almost anything regardless of what you ultimately think of them. NY Times qualifies them as a category of, “Must Be Seen to Be Believed.” There isn’t anything that Cave can’t create.  Nick Cave knows something about sewing, draping, beading and quilting. He has created floral pattern that he can’t intensify with embroidery or, most often, sequins, which he dispenses lavishly. Whatever copious amounts of material he uses, his garments always maintain a distinct and glamorous line, that create a visual performance and modern dance.

Nick Cave’s newly created horse-like shaped Soundsuits will be moving through the campus of the University of North Texas Institute for the Advancement of the Arts. He has been chosen as their artist-in-residence and will be conducting master classes, workshops and public lectures during the 2011-2012 academic year. Cave’s residency and performance are significant for students as opportunities to interact with an artist who will not only share his extensive experience, but also allow students to participate as collaborators,” said Tracee Robertson, UNT Art Galleries director. “This is an opportunity for students from different arts disciplines and colleges to engage with each other through their own aesthetic languages and approaches in creating a unified work of art. The strength and breadth of the arts at UNT have uniquely prepared us for this experience.” Makes me want to go back to college again.

If you liked Fashion Trends post about Nick Cave’s Soundsuits check out this Seattle Art Museum show post.

Photo by James Prinz, Chicago, Courtesy of the artist and Jack Shainman Gallery, New York

Twitt